Daily Prompt: VIP

Who is the most important person in my life, and what would my life be without him or her? I think most people with children would say that life would barely be liveable without them. I know that someday they will leave and make a life for themselves, but that’s the way it is supposed to be. Some days that is actually a pleasant thought. But to think of one of them suddenly being gone is unbearable. My son is an active duty Marine corporal, soon to reenlist for another five years. How my life would be different without him is something that does not bear thinking about.

So taking the children off the table, I had to work backwards and think of how my life would be different with various other people missing from it. I decided that I would miss my father the most. It could be because that is something I think about every day, because he will be 87 years old in May. Even though we don’t talk every day, we see each other a lot, even more since we lost my mom 2 years ago.

When you still have your parents, no matter how old you are, you feel grounded. Wherever you are and whatever you are doing, you can always go home. His home is where we meet for holidays and birthdays. He is the contact point for all the cousins and aunts and uncles I have lost touch with over the years. He will probably be wielding a hammer and a drill until his very last breath.  He is the thought of family to me.

But the most important thing of all is that I love him, and I will always be there for him just as he is for me.

Leave a Reply

