Winging It

This is day two of my vacation, and though I didn’t get to any boxes today, I feel like I got a lot done.

I finished the income taxes for us, for my mother-in-law, and for my daughter. I balanced the checkbook and paid all the bills. I now have an up-to-date list of things I need to buy and things I need to do. I worked for an hour or so on new slides for church, but those I will have to finish tomorrow. I still need to find a new, inexpensive phone for my daughter, who lost her Christmas iphone over a month ago, and get her prom dress altered and hemmed for this weekend.

I was going to go shopping today, but I decided that I would feel even better if I just stayed home and worked. Besides, I got a call from Alicia last night. Alicia teaches 6th and 7th grade English, and she asked me if I would help her with her class by listening to some of their presentations next week. I think the idea is that they have developed a product and need to present it to a panel who will then say how well they liked it and will use it. It sounds like a really fun project for them, and I’m happy to help her. Besides, it means a trip to the city. I can leave early and do some shopping then.

Alicia is moving to Idaho this summer. She thinks, anyway. Her husband, Cyrus, is definitely a free spirit, like his parents. He has a four-year degree in religion, and right now he is a para-educator in a large high school. It was a step up from his previous job trimming trees. Cyrus wants to take more classes in education, and he’s chosen to go to Boise State, because he loves the mountains and all that remoteness that goes along with it.

I chatted with him a few weeks ago when we went to dinner for my sister’s birthday.

“So, Cyrus, you are still going to Boise?”

“Yes, this summer.”

“And your school starts in the fall?”

“Umm, I haven’t really applied yet.”

I like Cyrus, he has a really dry sense of humor and is very smart, just not very ambitious. He’s willing to take his wife away from a good job and her family, and move to a place they have never been before to do something…not really sure what…maybe go to school…maybe get a job…maybe spend the summer planting flowers at a hotel in the Grand Tetons. This is the kind of life a college student lives. I guess, though, the time to discover yourself is while you are still young enough to be bendable, and while your wife is still in love with you and willing to follow you anywhere without a peep.

I will just spend the rest of the week surrounded by boxes of thirty years’ worth of family memories, toys, papers, and other detritus, and remember what it was like to be young and mobile. I’m sure we all have places we wish we would have gone, hobbies we wish we would have spent more time at, chances we wish we would have taken.

I hope I am able to surprise a few people, still.

Leave a Reply

