Silver and Gold

Most mornings when my brain begins to function without fuzz, I go through a mental list of things that need to be done that day. Almost always they are normal, mundane, easily forgotten things that are nothing to write home about.

And then there are the days, every now and then, that you will remember for your whole life. Days that break the mold of mediocrity and set the stage for the rest of your life.

Today was one of those days.

I found my first gray hairs.

At first, I couldn’t believe it, but I looked again and there they were, front and center at the top of my forehead. I shrieked for a moment, then bent closer to look. They were kind of hard to see, as my hair is blonde, but sure enough, I will soon be able to use the seniors’ menu at restaurants and join the 55+ club at church.

Did my kids give them to me? Well, maybe. Andy is in his third month of Special Operations training with the Marines. He tells me some things, says he can’t tell me others, and mostly I don’t think I want to know the details. The day he told me he almost tripped an IED wire in Afghanistan was also a moment I will not forget.

Megan has also been accepted into the Rotary Club’s student exchange program. In August, she’ll get on a plane and spend her senior year of high school living in South Korea. South Korea is fine, but there are two things that may have caused my hair to go gray…she will be so far away for so long, and South Korea is way too close to North Korea. But I trust the Rotary Program, it sounds amazing, and she is so excited. I can hardly help being excited for her, too.

Erin has never been a child to give me gray hair, but this spring she will get her AA degree from the community college in town. In the fall, she will transfer to a four-year college, and live there. She is definitely ready, she will be twenty years old, and it’s time. As much as she is nervous about going, she can hardly wait. I made a promise I wouldn’t visit too often, but I’m not sure I’ll be able to keep it.

If I had a choice between having children and gray hair, or not having children and no gray hair, it’s no contest. Bring on the gray! I am blessed to have three of the best kids in the world.

Leave a Reply

