Cherries!

2014-06-24 09.56.14

This house came with a cherry tree — and it’s been so nice! Picking cherries is like working in the garden, it’s relaxing and when you’re done, you feel like you actually accomplished something.

2014-06-24 10.16.04

The haul. Could have been more if I’d gotten out a ladder, but this is enough for now. Mostly because they all have to be pitted. I have a cherry pitter, but I never mind doing things that are more time consuming, just because it’s nice to have a reason to not always be rushing from one thing to another. So I cut them all in half and take out the pit. Another good reason to not use the pitter? We don’t spray the tree, so several of them had a little worm in the pit. Not many, but enough to be wary! A little sugar, a homemade pie crust, not hard, just took some time.

2014-07-01 14.17.38

The finished pie! I ended up not having quite enough cherries, so I tossed in a pint of blueberries from the store. Baked on a tray with parchment paper so I don’t have to clean up the mess that always happens…maybe I put a little too much fruit in?

2014-07-12 19.45.37

Yummm. Not too sweet, those cherries were tart but not too tart. Served up with some cherry frozen yogurt from the ice cream shop, and oh my, fresh berry pie is to die for. I am not the world’s greatest cook by a long shot, but when you have fresh cherries right off the tree, how can you go wrong? It’s a lot of work, but worth it!

Leave a Reply

