A Few More Good Men

raider patch

 The light at the end of the tunnel.  Today we were given our duty station wish list. It’s been a wild ride so far. I’ve accomplished so many things I didn’t know I could do, but it’s not over yet. There’s no other place I’d rather be than overcoming every challenge thrown at me with these fine gentlemen.

Try, fail, LEARN, try, succeed, repeat.

Facebook post by Andy, 7/6/14

Photo from The Marine Corps Times, 8/6/14 (click here for article)

Andy’s been training for the United States Marine Corps Forces Special Operations Command since January…survival training, combat training, marksmanship, and all kinds of other things I probably wouldn’t want to know why he needs to know those things. Up next – language school. He’ll be learning Arabic. But as you can see, he is right where he wants to be.

In August, MARSOC decided to resurrect the title “Raiders,” which made Andy even happier. He’s now part of the 3rd Marine Raider Battalion, formerly the 3rd Marine Special Operations Battalion. Here’s a brief history of the the Marine Raiders, excerpted from Wikipedia: (see the entire article here)

“The Marine Raiders were elite units established by the United States Marine Corps during World War II to conduct amphibious light infantry warfare, particularly landing in rubber boats and operating behind the lines. They were given the best of the Marines’ equipment, and were handpicked from available volunteers. Four Raider battalions served operationally but all were disbanded in 1944 when the Marine Corps decided that the Raiders had out-lived their original mission.”

Fast-forward to 2014, 70 years later. “On August 6th, 2014, Marine Commandant James Amos announced that all units would undergo a name change. For example, the 1st Marine Special Operations Battalion would now be known as the 1st Marine Raider Battalion. This move came as a surprise to many; General Amos seemed reluctant in the past to accept the use of the Raider moniker, believing that ‘your allegiance, your loyalty … is to the Marine Corps, based on the title you have on your uniform.’ “

We’re driving to North Carolina for his graduation in October, and I can’t wait to see him. Last week I got a text from him asking if his dad and I preferred a t-shirt or a hoodie, and what size we needed. Apparently, we get a new Raiders shirt in black and yellow. I asked for a hoodie to wear in the winter, and I’ll be wearing it every chance I get.

I couldn’t be prouder of my son, even though I’m sure my internet moniker embarasses him no end. Maybe I should change it to raidermom.  🙂

2 thoughts on “A Few More Good Men

Leave a Reply

