Sun Dogs

sun dogs 019

Last night was bitterly cold, with temperatures in the single digits below zero and wind chills in the minus thirty range. Even the cats knew to stay away from the back door, let alone go outside. We had to put up with some yowling in the middle of the night, but at least we knew they were okay.

This morning, all the schools were closed and I was given an extra hour to get to work. Even though the temperature was around zero, the sun was shining, which hasn’t been very common lately. Seeing the sun just lifts your spirits and makes you feel warmer than you actually are, if you can drop your hood for a minute and let it shine on your face.

As I was driving to work, I looked up and saw what I thought was the sun, with, what is that, a rainbow? I turned a corner so I could see the other side of the rainbow and saw these amazing sun dogs! I have never seen anything like this before in my life. Light refracting through ice crystals, is about all I really needed to know about it. And there sure were ice crystals in the air, on the trees, all over the streets, in my hair, and everywhere!

There are a few benefits to living where all four seasons have their glorious moments.

Leave a Reply

