Megan in South Korea (for a few more months)

hwamyeongMegan is having a great time on her exchange to Korea. When it came time to reschedule her flight home, the travel agent asked her when she wanted to come home. She said “June 30.” That’s the very last day she can be in the country, because her visa will expire.

We’ve been asked many times if we were going over to visit her, and I always shrugged it off. That’s a long and expensive flight…I didn’t think we could manage it. But I was chatting with Kris, who is the mom of the student who went to Korea last year. She said that she was glad they went to Korea to fly home with their son, because now they have a little better idea of what it was like for him over there, and it’s easier for him to talk about it with them.

I want to do that for Megan, too, so we booked a flight for Korea at the end of June. We’re going to South Korea! Wow. I mailed Megan a box of gifts for her new host family, and she says they are all excited to meet us when we come. It’s weird, I feel way more nervous about this trip than I did for our trip to Italy a couple years ago. There will actually be people in Korea that we will be meeting, and probably making friends with…people who have had our daughter living with them. I feel like I know them already!

I’ve been trying to learn some Korean, I don’t know why, just that I think it would be nice to be able to say “hi” and “thank you” and “how much are those earrings?” Megan says all I have to say is “how much is that thing?” — that sounds easier.

The picture above was taken in the Hwamyeong District where Megan is living now. Busan seems like a fantastic place and I can’t wait to see it! But I can’t wait to see Megan again, and bring her back home.

Leave a Reply

