Rooms to Grow

I have a day off tomorrow. I can’t wait to get back to the business of getting the house cleaned up…one, cleaning out the basement storage room, two, moving my daughter’s bedroom to that space, and three, creating a craft room for myself in her old bedroom. It’s so much easier to want to work on it when I know exactly what the goal is and what needs to be done to get there.

Unlike my job.

Next week I have to put myself out there at work, and join a team of 4 other people to accomplish a year-long project that I really have no idea what I am supposed to do.

Two of us from our small library, myself and our tech administrator, Monique, are joining three faculty members from the college here in town to create a local history database. Next week we have conference calls so we can get to know each other, and get to know the four other teams from across the state.

I can imagine, if the five of us get together, that I will say very little. Monique is very articulate and logical, and she is organized and goal-oriented. Three college faculty members…I can imagine that they are well-spoken and want to get right to business because they are busy.

We’ll just see.  Maybe my part in this will come more at the end, if they need to have a creative presentation or interface of some kind. I am just going to have to step up and not worry about having dumb ideas, or no ideas. I hate the feeling of being unable to keep up, or that they will successfully complete the project and I won’t have contributed much of anything. I am going to try my best.

I enjoy the rest of my job. I love creating posters and brochures as well as helping people at the desk. I also love accomplishing things around the house. With both of these things, I know the goal and I know how to get there, I don’t have to depend on anyone else, and there is rarely a deadline. Maybe the ultimate goal of this work project, for me, will be pushing me outside my comfort zone and increasing my confidence in myself.

Hmmm. Where have I heard that before? When I finish that painting of Max, I will post it here.

One thought on “Rooms to Grow

  1. Pingback: One Day at a Time | marsocmom

Leave a comment